What is the minimum car insurance coverage in USA? (State by State)

What is the minimum car insurance coverage in USA? (State by State)
A+
A-

There are a few different types of car insurance coverage in the United States, and the minimum amount of coverage required varies from state to state. The most common type of car insurance is liability insurance, which covers any damage that you may cause to another person or their property while operating your vehicle.

Before this post, we talked about Alabama minimum car insurance coverage requirements and Arizona minimum car insurance coverage. You may want to look at those articles.

Most states require a minimum amount of liability insurance, and it is typically advised to purchase more than the minimum amount to protect yourself financially. Other types of car insurance coverage include collision and comprehensive insurance, which cover damage to your own vehicle, and medical payments or personal injury protection insurance, which covers medical expenses for you and your passengers in the event of an accident.

Alaska

Alaska is a very unique state when it comes to car insurance. The state requires all drivers to have a minimum of $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance and $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. However, these minimums may not be enough to cover the costs of an accident. That’s why it’s important to consider buying additional coverage, such as collision and comprehensive insurance.

Arkansas

Car insurance is one of the most important things you need to have when driving. It can protect you from financial ruin if you are involved in an accident. The minimum car insurance coverage you need in Arkansas is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident.

California

California law requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. The minimum amount of coverage you need is: $15,000 for injury or death to one person, $30,000 for injury or death to two or more people, and $5,000 for property damage. If you don’t have car insurance and you get into an accident, you could be fined and your driver’s license could be suspended.

Colorado

To legally drive in Colorado, you must purchase at least the minimum car insurance coverage. The state requires you to have $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident, and $15,000 in property damage liability insurance. If you cause an accident and do not have the required insurance, you will be fined and your license may be suspended. You may also be sued by the other driver for any damages that exceed your insurance coverage. To protect yourself and your assets, it is recommended that you purchase more than the minimum car insurance coverage.

Connecticut

Here are the minimum car insurance coverage requirements in Connecticut:
-Bodily Injury Liability: $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident
-Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident
-Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident
-Underinsured Motorist Coverage: $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident
-Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $20,000 per person

Delaware

The state of Delaware requires drivers to have a minimum of $15,000 in bodily injury coverage and $30,000 in property damage coverage. Drivers are also required to carry $15,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. PIP coverage pays for medical expenses, lost wages, and other expenses incurred as a result of an accident.

Florida

The state of Florida requires a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance. If you’re caught driving without the minimum insurance coverage, you could be fined up to $500 and have your driver’s license suspended for three months.

Georgia

Here are the minimum coverages you are required to have in Georgia, according to the Official Code of Georgia:

-Bodily Injury to Others: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
-Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
-Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
-Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $5,000 per person

If you are caught driving without insurance, you will be fined $200 for the first offense. A second offense will result in a $300 fine and your license being suspended for 90 days.

Hawaii

Hawaii is a no-fault state, which means that your own insurance company will pay for your medical bills and lost wages up to a certain limit, regardless of who was at fault in the accident. You are required to have $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $20,000 in bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage. PIP will pay for your medical bills and lost wages, while BIL will cover the medical bills and lost wages of the other driver if you are at fault in the accident.

If you’re caught driving without car insurance in Hawaii, you could face some serious penalties. You may be fined up to $500, and your driver’s license could be suspended for up to a year. If you cause an accident while you’re uninsured, you could be sued for damages. That’s why it’s so important to make sure you have the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required by Hawaii law.

Idaho

In Idaho, the minimum amount of coverage you need is $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people, and $15,000 for property damage. If you’re found to be at fault in an accident, these are the minimum amounts your insurance must pay.

Illinois

There are a few types of coverage that are required by law in Illinois: bodily injury liability, property damage liability, and uninsured motorist coverage. You’ll need to have at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability and $20,000 of property damage liability. Uninsured motorist coverage is also required, and you’ll need to have at least $25,000 of this coverage.

Indiana

Car insurance is a legal requirement in Indiana. All drivers must have a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance and $50,000 in property damage liability insurance. You must also have $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance and $50,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury insurance.

Iowa

Car insurance is one of the most important things to have when driving. It can help cover the cost of damages to your car or someone else’s car in the event of an accident. There are different types of car insurance coverage, and each state has different requirements. In Iowa, the minimum amount of car insurance coverage you need is $15,000 for bodily injury per person, $30,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $5,000 for property damage per accident.

There are a few different types of coverage you can get: bodily injury, property damage, medical payments, and uninsured/underinsured motorist. You are required to have bodily injury and property damage coverage in Iowa. You can get medical payments coverage, but it is not required. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is also not required, but it is a good idea to have it.

Kansas

The minimum amount of car insurance coverage you need in Kansas is $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people, and $10,000 for damage to property. If you’re found to be at fault in an accident, you may be responsible for paying all of the damages.

Kentucky

The state of Kentucky requires a minimum of $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $10,000 property damage liability coverage. However, it is recommended that drivers purchase more than the state minimums.

Louisiana

In Louisiana, the minimum amount of car insurance coverage you need is $15,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $30,000 for bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 for property damage liability per accident. If you’re caught driving without car insurance, you could face penalties such as a fine, license suspension, or even jail time.

Maine

The state of Maine has a minimum amount of car insurance coverage that all drivers must have. The minimum coverage includes $50,000 for bodily injury per person, $100,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. If you are caught driving without the minimum amount of coverage, you will be fined.

Maryland

If you drive in Maryland, you’re required to have car insurance. Maryland law requires a minimum of $20,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $40,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $15,000 in property damage liability. You must have this insurance coverage in place before you can register your car.

Massachusetts

In order to drive in Massachusetts, you must have car insurance. The state requires a minimum of $20,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $40,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $5,000 in property damage coverage. You may also choose to purchase additional coverage, such as collision or comprehensive insurance.

Michigan

The state of Michigan requires a minimum of $20,000 in bodily injury liability insurance and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. You are also required to have $20,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. PIP pays for your medical expenses, lost wages, and other expenses incurred as a result of an accident, regardless of who is at fault.

Minnesota

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety requires all drivers to have liability insurance, which pays for damage and injuries you cause to others in an accident. The minimum amount of liability insurance required in Minnesota is $30,000 for injury or death to one person, $60,000 for injury or death to two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage. If you cause an accident that injures or kills someone, or damages property, and your insurance coverage is not enough to pay for the damages, you will be personally responsible for paying the difference.

The average cost of car insurance in Minnesota is $1,173 per year. For minimum coverage, you can expect to pay around $65 per month, or $780 per year. This coverage includes bodily injury and property damage liability, as well as personal injury protection.

Mississippi

To be a licensed driver in Mississippi, you must have liability insurance that covers $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. If you cause an accident and do not have insurance, you will be fined $200 to $5,000 and your license will be suspended for up to one year. You may also be required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV.

Missouri

In order to legally drive in Missouri, your car must have insurance. The state minimum insurance requirements are $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident, and $10,000 property damage liability per accident. However, these minimums may not be enough to fully protect you in the event of an accident. You may want to consider purchasing additional coverage, such as collision and comprehensive insurance, to ensure that you are fully protected.

Montana

The amount of coverage you need is based on many factors, including your assets, your driving record, and the state you live in. In Montana, the minimum amount of car insurance required is $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage in an accident. If you have a clean driving record and limited assets, this may be the right coverage for you. However, if you have a lot to lose, you may want to consider a higher amount of coverage.

Nebraska

In Nebraska, the minimum amount of car insurance you need is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you could be fined up to $500.

Nevada

The insurance minimums in the state of Nevada are $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident, and $20,000 property damage liability. These are the very minimum amounts of coverage that you can have and still be legally driving in the state. While these amounts may seem like a lot, they can very quickly be exhausted if you are involved in a serious accident. For this reason, it is often recommended that drivers carry more than the minimum amount of coverage.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire is a bit different from other states when it comes to car insurance. For starters, the state does not require drivers to have insurance. However, if you do choose to drive without insurance and you’re involved in an accident, you will be held financially responsible for any damage you cause. This includes damage to other vehicles, property, and injuries to other people.
This financial responsibility can be in the form of insurance, a surety bond, or cash. If you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, your driver’s license may be suspended. Additionally, if you cause an accident and are found to be at fault, you may be sued by the other party involved.

New Jersey

The state of New Jersey requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. The minimum amount of coverage required is $15,000 for bodily injury per person, $30,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $5,000 for property damage per accident. If you are caught driving without insurance, you could face a fine of up to $5000.

New Mexico

New Mexico law requires you to have $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. You must also have $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per accident. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you’ll face a fine of $300 and have your license and registration suspended for one year.

New York

The minimum car insurance coverage you need in New York is $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident, and $10,000 for property damage liability. If you’re found at fault for an accident, these are the minimum amounts your insurance must pay.

To comply with New York law, your car insurance policy must include personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) coverage. PIP will cover your medical bills and any lost wages if you’re injured in a car accident, no matter who is at fault. PDL will pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle if you’re found at fault for an accident. You’re also required to have uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage in New York. This will protect you if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover the damages.

If you’re caught driving without car insurance in New York, you could face a fine of up to $1,500 and have your driver’s license and registration suspended. You may also be required to pay a mandatory state surcharge of $750-$1,500 if your insurance lapses or you’re caught driving without insurance.

North Carolina

In order to feel secure on the road, it is important to have the minimum amount of car insurance required by North Carolina law. This will ensure that you are protected in the event of an accident. The minimum coverage required by North Carolina is $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident.

North Dakota

The minimum amount of insurance required in North Dakota is $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage in any one accident. You may also be required to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in North Dakota.

Ohio

Car insurance is required in Ohio, and the minimum coverage you need includes $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. You may also want to consider collision and comprehensive coverage, which will cover damage to your car if it’s damaged in an accident or stolen.

Oklahoma

The minimum amount of car insurance you need in Oklahoma is $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 for property damage liability per accident. However, it is recommended that you get more than the minimum amount of coverage.

Oregon

If you don’t have a lot of money to spend on car insurance, you may be tempted to go with the minimum coverage required by your state. In Oregon, the minimum amount of liability insurance you must carry is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 for property damage. However, this may not be enough to cover the full cost of an accident. If you are at fault in an accident, you could be responsible for paying the other driver’s medical bills, vehicle repairs, and more. To protect yourself and your finances, it’s a good idea to carry more than the minimum amount of car insurance.

Pennsylvania

The state of Pennsylvania requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. The minimum coverage includes $5,000 of property damage liability insurance, $15,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person, and $30,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per accident. Drivers are also required to have $5,000 of medical benefits coverage.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island is one of the few states that requires drivers to have car insurance. The state requires a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability.

South Carolina

The South Carolina Department of Insurance requires all drivers to have liability insurance, which covers damage to other people and property in the event that you’re at fault for an accident. The minimum amount of coverage you must have is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage. You may also want to consider purchasing additional coverage, such as collision and comprehensive insurance, which covers damage to your own car in the event of an accident or other covered event.
If you have a financed car, your lender will require you to have comprehensive and collision coverage. If you don’t have a car loan, it’s still a good idea to have this coverage to protect your investment. In South Carolina, you’re also required to have uninsured motorist coverage in case you’re in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance.

South Dakota

Drivers in South Dakota are only required to have $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 of property damage coverage. However, South Dakota drivers are encouraged to purchase more than the minimum amount of car insurance.

Tennessee

When it comes to car insurance, Tennessee requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage.

While this may seem like a lot, it’s important to remember that car accidents can be very expensive. If you cause an accident that results in $50,000 in damage, you will be responsible for paying the full amount out of your own pocket if you don’t have enough insurance.

To make sure you are fully protected, you may want to purchase more than the minimum amount of coverage. You can talk to your insurance agent to find out what coverage is right for you.

Texas

Texas law requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. The minimum coverage you need is:

$30,000 for each injured person, up to a maximum of $60,000 per accident, and
$25,000 for property damage per accident.

If you are caught driving without insurance, you could be fined up to $350.

Utah

If you’re caught driving without car insurance in Utah, you could end up paying a fine of $400. The state also requires that you have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage. If you’re caught driving without these minimum amounts of coverage, you could face a fine of up to $5,000.

Vermont

Vermont has a minimum car insurance requirement of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, as well as $10,000 for property damage. You’re also required to have $5,000 in medical payments coverage. If you’re caught driving without car insurance in Vermont, you could face a fine of up to $500 and your license could be suspended for up to three months.
Vermont is a very safe state and has very low crime rates. The average cost of car insurance in Vermont is $936 per year. For this reason, you should only purchase the minimum car insurance coverage you need in Vermont.

Virginia

The absolute minimum amount of coverage you can have in Virginia is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $20,000 for property damage. However, this is not recommended. You should always carry more than the minimum amount of car insurance, in case you are in an accident. If you are found to be at fault in an accident, and the damages exceed your insurance coverage, you will be responsible for paying the difference.

In addition to the state minimums, you may want to consider adding comprehensive and collision coverage to your policy. These optional types of coverage can help pay to repair or replace your car if it’s damaged in an accident.

If you’re caught driving without car insurance in Virginia, you could be subject to a number of penalties. First, you’ll be fined $500. You may also have your license suspended for up to a year. Finally, you’ll be required to carry SR-22 insurance for three years.

Washington

The state of Washington requires a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. You are also required to have $5,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $5,000 in medical payments coverage. If you are caught driving without the minimum amount of insurance, you will be subject to a fine of $450.

West Virginia

West Virginia law requires all motorists to maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage in order to operate a vehicle on public roads. The minimum coverage required is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. However, it is strongly recommended that drivers carry additional coverage to protect themselves in the event of an accident.

Wisconsin

If you own a car in Wisconsin, you are required to have insurance. The minimum amount of coverage you need is $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage in an accident.

If you are caught driving without insurance in Wisconsin, you may be fined up to $500 and have your license suspended for up to three months. If you cause an accident while uninsured, you may be sued for damages and be required to pay up to $10,000 in medical expenses for the other driver and passengers.

Wyoming

If you plan to drive in Wyoming, you’ll need to have car insurance. The state of Wyoming requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of liability insurance. This insurance will cover damages to other people or property if you’re at fault in an accident. The minimum coverage amounts are $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $20,000 for property damage.

The same goes for medical payments coverage, which is designed to cover your medical bills if you’re in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. In Wyoming, the minimum required is $2,500, but you may want to consider increasing that amount.

The best way to find out how much car insurance you need in Wyoming is to talk to an insurance agent. They will be able to help you figure out the minimum amount of coverage required by law and make sure you are getting the best possible rate.